Malin to Mizen Challenge.

Don’t forget the Malin to Mizen charity cycle is on this weekend. The cyclists with five of them from Clerihan will pass through the village around four o’clock on Friday the 2nd. They will be stopping in Clonmel at the Credit Union around five o’clock. Listen to Tipp FM for updates on their progress. Remember to donate on line at


Ladies Gaa Club Notes

The club would like to thank everyone who supported the  five mile road race last Friday night which was a huge success. We had 253 registered runners and walkers who made their way around the village in Mediterranean conditions. There was a brilliant atmosphere and buzz in the village for the whole event with the whole community coming out and supporting. The race was won by Michael Harty of East Cork who went into the lead right from the start and came home a very convincing winner in 25 mins 59 secs. Then we had Brian Murphy of Carrick on Suir 2nd in 26 mins 22 secs with Harry Lupton of Portlaoise 3rd in 27 mins.Paudie O Keeffe of Clonmel AC won the over 40 award when 5th overall in 28 mins 56 secs with Declan Curley also of Clonmel AC finishing 2nd 0/40 in 30 mins 54 secs. Derek Nolan of Clonmel was 1st over 50 when 9th overall in 30 mins 36 secs with Jack Alexander of Coolquill 2nd 0/50 in 33 mins 12 secs. Tim Twomey of East Cork won the over 60 award when 38th overall in 34 mins 57 secs with Con Kelliher of Waterford 2nd in 39 mins 28 secs.

Dymphna Ryan of Dundrum won the Ladies race in 29 mins 58 secs with Angela McCann of Clonmel 2nd in 30 mins 29 secs and Orlaith Moynihan of Clonmel 3rd in 32 mins 45 secs. Dymphna was also the first recipient of the Laura Taylor Memorial Shield, presented to her by Donna Nagle, of Clonmel A C, to the first women finisher from a County Tipperary Club, in honour of Laura Taylor who died tragically last year. Dymphna was also presented with a Special framed photo of Camelot signed by Aidan and Joseph O’Brien of Ballydoyle where Laura worked for many years. Stephanie Culligan of Clonmel won the women’s over 40 award in 37 mins 35 secs with Una Redfern of Clonmel AC 2nd in 42 mins 30 secs. Mary Mulcahy of St Finbarrs won the women over 50 award in 41 mins 28 secs with Eileen Hynes of Clonmel AC 2nd in 42 mins 56 secs. Christine McGee of Clonmel won the Women over 60 award in mins secs. The first local male home was Oisin McGrath in a time of 34.49 and  female was Mairead O’Rourke in a time of 37.53 , great running by the locals.
This was a great community effort and the Club would like to thank everyone who helped to make this event such a success. The Post Race refreshments were greatly appreciated by everyone and the two water stations on the course were also very much appreciated by everyone.
Our U12 team attended a blitz in County Waterford and really enjoyed the day and won all three games, well done to the girls and parents who made the effort to travel down.